The Strategy Board meets at least twice a year to oversee the implementation of the programmatic strategy and award grants.

Our Strategy Board members act in a voluntary role and do not get paid for the work they do for us.

The Strategy Board members are drawn widely and include leading scientists and research managers from academia and industry from across the globe.

Each brings a unique set of strategic, scientific and managerial experience, helping to ensure that AREF makes the best possible contribution to developing research capacity for medical and health research in Africa.

Professor Charles Mgone (Chair)

Charles Mgone is Vice Chancellor of Hubert Kairuki Memorial University based in Tanzania and former Executive Director of the European and Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP).

Prior to joining the EDCTP, he was the Network Director of the African Malaria Network Trust, where he coordinated the African response to the malaria burden, through accelerating the development of malaria vaccines and other interventions.

Professor Richard A. Adegbola

A microbiologist, Richard Adegbola is a Consultant and Research Professor at the Nigerian Institute of Medical Research and a Professor/Independent Consultant in Immunisation and Global Health at RAMBICON. He was a member of the World Health Organisation's (WHO) Meningitis Vaccine Project Advisory Group, and was Vice Chair of the European and Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership Board.

He is a member of the WHO Africa Regional Immunisation Technical Advisory Group and serves as a member and Chair of several international scientific advisory boards. He is also a Trustee of the Expanded Civil Society Initiative on Immunisation in Nigeria.

Professor Danny Altmann

Danny Altmann is an active research scientist, running a research programme as Professor of Immunology at Imperial College, Hammersmith Hospital. His main research interests are adaptive immunity in human disease, including severe viral and bacterial infection and autoimmune diseases.

Danny serves on the Strategy Board in his capacity as a Trustee of the Medical Research Foundation.

Alpha Barry

Formerly the Country Managing Partner of the Gambia practice of Deloitte, Alpha Barry is a Fellow of the Chartered Association of Certified Accountants and founded Alpha Kapital Advisory, a boutique financial advisory practice, in 2013.

He serves as its Chair, as well as Chair of the Standard Chartered Bank Gambia Ltd and The Gambia Ports Authority.


Dr Ralf Clemens

Ralf Clemens is Member of the Board of Trustees of IVI and the scientific advisory board of CEPI. He also advises the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and is a member of CureVac’s Supervisory Board.

With over 30 years’ experience in the vaccine industry, he has held several scientific and business leadership positions at GSK Biologicals, Novartis Vaccines and Takeda Vaccines.

Dr Wendy Ewart

Wendy Ewart joined the Medical Research Council (MRC) in 2008 as Director of Strategy and from 2012-2014 served as Deputy Chief Executive and Chief of Strategy, where she was responsible for the development and communication of its research strategy and impact.

She also directed international policy, including global health, and led the overall approach to planning and evaluation across the MRC.

Wendy currently chairs the Independent Evaluation Panel for the Welsh Government's Ser Cyrmu funding programme.


Professor Rose Leke

Rose Leke is a malariologist and Emeritus Professor of Immunology and Parasitology at the University of Yaounde, Cameroon.

She has served on many committees for the World Health Organisation including: the Malaria Policy Advisory Committee, Chair of the African Regional Commission for the Certification of the Eradication of Poliomyelitis, a member of the Global Certification Commission.


Professor Nyovani Madise

Nyovani is the Director of Research and Development Policy, and Head of the Malawi office, of the African Institute for Development Policy. She was formerly Professor of Demography and Social Statistics at the University of Southampton (UK).

Nyovani sits on several scientific advisory committees including the UK Department of Health and Social Care, the Dutch SRHR programme of NWO-WOTRO, and UK Research and Innovation committees (Global Challenges Research Fund and Medical Research Council Applied Global Health Board).



Pauline Mullin

A communications and engagement professional, Pauline Mullin is the Deputy Director, Strategic Communications at UK Research and Innovation (UKRI).

She has broad experience in both the public sector and charities, and was formerly Head of Communications for the Medical Research Council.