The Programme Strategy Committee meets at least twice a year to oversee the implementation of the programmatic strategy and award grants.

Our Programme Strategy Committee members act in a voluntary role and do not get paid for the work they do for us.

The Programme Strategy Committee members are drawn widely and include leading scientists and research managers from academia and industry from across the globe.

Each brings a unique set of strategic, scientific and managerial experience, helping to ensure that AREF makes the best possible contribution to developing research capacity for medical and health research in Africa.

Professor Sir Tumani Corrah (Chair)

Professor Corrah, who is Gambian, is the Founder and co-President of AREF. He has over thirty years of progressively senior-level research and leadership experience, ten years of which were as the Unit Director of the Medical Research Council’s Unit in The Gambia, where he is now Emeritus Director.

He is medically qualified and has retained active research interests in tropical and infectious diseases, including tuberculosis, HIV and malaria.

Professor Corrah is an Honorary Fellow of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and is a member of over twenty scientific board and committee groups worldwide. 

Professor Richard A. Adegbola

A microbiologist, Richard Adegbola is a Consultant and Research Professor at the Nigerian Institute of Medical Research and a Professor/Independent Consultant in Immunisation and Global Health at RAMBICON. He was a member of the World Health Organisation's (WHO) Meningitis Vaccine Project Advisory Group, and was Vice Chair of the European and Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership Board.

He is a member of the WHO Africa Regional Immunisation Technical Advisory Group and serves as a member and Chair of several international scientific advisory boards. He is also a Trustee of the Expanded Civil Society Initiative on Immunisation in Nigeria.

Alpha Barry

Formerly the Country Managing Partner of the Gambia practice of Deloitte, Alpha Barry is a Fellow of the Chartered Association of Certified Accountants and founded Alpha Kapital Advisory, a boutique financial advisory practice, in 2013.

He serves as its Chair, as well as Chair of the Standard Chartered Bank Gambia Ltd and The Gambia Ports Authority.


Dr Wendy Ewart

Wendy Ewart joined the Medical Research Council (MRC) in 2008 as Director of Strategy and from 2012-2014 served as Deputy Chief Executive and Chief of Strategy, where she was responsible for the development and communication of its research strategy and impact.

She also directed international policy, including global health, and led the overall approach to planning and evaluation across the MRC.

Wendy currently chairs the Independent Evaluation Panel for the Welsh Government's Ser Cyrmu funding programme.


Professor Rose Leke

Rose Leke is a malariologist and Emeritus Professor of Immunology and Parasitology at the University of Yaounde, Cameroon.

She has served on many committees for the World Health Organisation including: the Malaria Policy Advisory Committee, Chair of the African Regional Commission for the Certification of the Eradication of Poliomyelitis, a member of the Global Certification Commission.